About EEA

The School of Arabic Studies (Escuela de Estudios Árabes, EEA) is a research center that belongs to the Spanish National Research Council (Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas, CSIC), which is an autonomous public research institution subordinate to the Ministry of Science and Innovation.

Its original headquarter is located at the Casa del Chapiz (House of the Chapiz), a former Morisco building qualified as Monument of Cultural Interest, whose origins date back to the 14th century.
The building is situated in the Albaicin -a quarter of Granada that is included in the UNESCO World Heritage List-, specifically on the corner to the way to Sacromonte.

Nowadays, the EEA has two headquarters: the above-mentioned one in Casa del Chapiz, and a second one in Carmen de los Mínimos, a recently constructed building that opened in 2007.

The research activity in the EEA focuses mainly on the History and Culture of al-Andalus through written documents on the one hand, and on Islamic Archaeology and Architecture on the other.

A good synthesis of the EEA history and headquarters, as well as its researchers’ work, can be seen in the institutional video.

History of the EEA

In this section you can access different documents related to the history of the School of Arabic Studies.

In 2007 and 2022 the EEA celebrated its 75 and 90 anniversaries, respectively. Many activities were carried out to celebrate both events.

Organization chart


Institute Board
Scientific Board
Mayte Penelas Meléndez (Director) Montserrat Benítez Fernández
Montserrat Benítez Fernández (Deputy-Director) Ana María Carballeira Debasa
J Ignacio Zúñiga Urbano (Deputy-Director) Juan Castilla Brazales
Luis José García Pulido (Head of the Department) Luis José García Pulido
José Antonio Ponce Fajardo (Manager) Luis Molina Martínez
Alberto Pérez Lozano (Staff representative) Julio Navarro Palazón
Antonio Orihuela Uzal
Mayte Penelas Meléndez
Mª Ángeles Utrero Agudo
Persons in charge of the Research support units
Committee in charge of analyzing complaints
Miriam Font Ugalde (Library) Víctor Ropero
Enrique García Lobo (ICT) Estefanía Valenzuela
Juan Ignacio Zúñiga Urbano (Scientific Culture) Alberto Pérez
Javier de la Fuente



Also available in - También disponible en Spanish (Español)

Optimizado para las últimas versiones de: Google Chrome, Internet Explorer y Mozilla Firefox COPYRIGHT © 2016 ESCUELA DE ESTUDIOS ÁRABES | Aviso Legal | Política de Privacidad | Accesibilidad intelligenia-logo